Impossible Spells I’m Possible

To my own detriment, I tend to be a bit nostalgic sometimes. Lately I’ve been thinking about my distaste for conflict and others’ cynicism, disenfranchised perspectives. But as opposed to infantile leveling with gripers and whiners through another inane parody or satire, I’ll stick with escapism and lighter fare.

In The Journey from Success to Significance, a gift from my high school guidance counselor, one of my favorite speakers and leaders, John Maxwell discusses subjects of motivation, influence and inspiration for business leaders, ministry and graduates alike.

I love this quote from him:

“Impossible is just a big word thrown around by small men, who find it easier to live in a world they’ve been given than to explore the power they have to change it. Impossible is not a fact; it’s an opinion. Impossible is not a declaration; it’s a dare. Impossible is potential. Impossible is temporary. Impossible is nothing.”


A requisite talent snob/outdoors junkie (I grew up with unorthodox competitive sports and performing arts, which I’ll save for another post), I tend to follow public figures that exude commitmentpassion and purpose. They’re catalysts for social change while honoring tradition, and compelling models of the hunger and heart it takes to fulfill your destiny in all facets of life. Roger Federer is one of them.

One pastime I picked up during college was tennis. Growing up, I always enjoyed watching Sampras and Agassi duke it out, so it was a natural progression when Federer leapt onto the scene. Though amateur at best (my serve’s a work in progress…), I love the community — there was always someone to hit with, provide pointers and offer encouragement or challenges along the way. I’m more of a baseline player, and love long rallies. Like backgammon, chess, table tennis or billiards, I like that no shot or play is ever the same, and there is always a new way to approach strategy. (I’ll admit I’m one of those persnickety pool players that surveys the table before taking the shot lol).

But anyway, for those that can pony up the dough, there are myriad clubs out there through local fitness centers and recreational programs (there were some great ones when I was out in Vegas, but I stuck to local courts with friends and pretty much anyone that would humor me).

My best friend’s sister got me a pretty nice racket during her wedding party a few years ago (their Dad’s corporate at Dick’s Sporting Goods in Pittsburgh), so I’m eager to return to the courts as the weather shapes up (after all, usually ambiguous in Believeland). Golf, disc golf (or frolf if you’re George Costanza) and Tribe time’s also fast approaching…

What are you looking forward to this Spring?

Apologies for low-resolution/quality

Unbelievable Rally

Leave a Reply

